Me Before You… Oh, Wait No That’s Still Me

The Beginning… wow that sounds more serious than intended.

 

To clarify this isn’t about my life beginning… just my journey to find “my calling”. Wow, that’s even worse… I promise this blog won’t be filled with cheesy cliché sayings and quotes. With that said I have told myself “You’ll find what you love when you stop looking.”  

rs_500x270-150612135621-f8ba92e0-d6c6-0130-7747-5ee43895e257

First of all, I’ll tell you a little about myself. My name is Courtney, I’m 26, recently married and at the moment a stay-at-home dog mom. As far as I was concerned I had my life all planned out.

My “career” goals and plan for life seemed to be right on track. Nine months prior to this post I resigned from a job I liked, but didn’t love. I decided to quit before my position was eliminated due to sales going in the  bbf034d7ffd43b195cd15ceacedfeb5b

Although not my “dream” job, it seemed to be a hiccup I couldn’t get over.  So, I thought to myself “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

d6abd6396c3ca6f3c9c34564fd1b4175

I’ve tried my hand at a lot of things… trying to find your passion in life can be difficult when there really isn’t anything you are so insanely caught up with like most people seem to have. I felt like something was wrong with me because for the most part I seemed passionless.

I went to cosmetology school for almost a year and dropped out before completing the required amount of hours.  I have held a few jobs I enjoyed but still longed for “my calling.”  So, I thought I would try real estate because that seemed like the ultimate dream… work from home… for yourself, and make excellent money.

picture1

So, I took an online real estate course, and failed it.  With my confidence at an all-time low, I brought up the idea to my husband about purchasing yet another real estate course. Like always, he would do anything to support me. Luckily, this time I found a very discounted course on Groupon.  With this course going much better I still couldn’t help but feel this emptiness and need for something exciting in my career life.

It wasn’t until recently when I was visiting my parents, sitting in their living room applying my favorite lavender oil that I realized there was something this entire time that I was passionate about. Feeling slightly embarrassed that it took so long for me to realize that it had been right in front of me (well actually in my purse) this entire time!

I had been racking my brain trying to find my passion, my calling, or whatever else you want to call it for what seemed like a lifetime. The ultimate stay-at-home, work for yourself, be your own boss dream, or whatever other cliché there is to throw out there. “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

picture1

Also, not gonna lie… leaving my fur-baby at home alone all day was sickening. All this to do a job I could barely tolerate, while making barely enough money to live. I mean who could blame me for not wanting to leave this face…

picture1

I see it so clearly now, I have always had a passion for finding natural remedies, DIY cleaners, healthy recipes and more recently skin care. Turning 26 and finding my first gray hair was rough… I don’t want to add crow’s feet and forehead wrinkles (which are already slightly present) to the mix. I do feel like I’m a little late to the race… especially since I’ve been using these products for a couple years now. Needless to say I could be a few nuggets short of a happy meal, or in nicer words a late bloomer.

picture1

So, to get to the point of what brings me to this blog and my newfound passion for life, career goals, and entrepreneurship, blah blah blah… I have honestly never been the open, wear your heart on your sleeves type of person. You are probably thinking, “yeah I can tell from your 50-page blog post.”  But in all honesty this is very out of character for me.

With that said, this blog will be a place for me to share my thoughts, recipes, successes, failures (hopefully there won’t be many along the way) and whatever else comes to my mind. Not all of my posts will be related to doTERRA and my newfound love of life.

Here’s to the future, and fingers crossed that I won’t be so long winded or whatever the equivalent to word vomit is, in my next post.

So until next time “Sing like no one is listening. Love like you’ve never been hurt. Dance like nobody is watching.”

picture1

 

Author: Courtney Colby

Hello, Welcome to my site. My name is Courtney, I am 26, recently married and living in Nashville, TN. I'm a presenter with Younique and a stay at home dog mom. I absolutely love my life, working for myself and being a Younique presenter. I've started this page as a source for me to share my thoughts, successes, failures and everything else in between. If you have any questions about me, my life or what I do... please feel free to reach out to me. I would love to hear from each and every one of you that happen to stumble across my website. Sincerely, Courtney :) youniquecourtney@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

